Veterinary Pathology and Microbiology – History


During the 1977/78 academic year the University of Nigeria Senate (and subsequently NUC) approved the establishment of the faculty of Veterinary Medicine with six Departments with effect from 1st August 1980. The Department of Veterinary Pathology and Microbiology was one of the six approved Departments and today it is one of the nine accredited Departments in the faculty. The Department has two major units- Pathology and Microbiology. Specialty areas in the Department includes: Diagnostic Pathology, Avian Pathology, Clinical Pathology, Bacteriology, Virology, Mycology and Immunology.

The Department participates in the training of undergraduate (DVM) students in the areas of General Veterinary Microbiology, Veterinary Immunology, General Veterinary Pathology, Veterinary Bacteriology, Veterinary Virology, Veterinary Mycology, Pathology of the Digestive and Urogenital system, Pathology of the Integumentary, Musculoskeletal and Nervous System, Pathology of the Hematopoietic, Cardiovascular, Respiratory and Sensory System, Pathology of Fungal, Protozoan, Parasitic, Nutritional, Metabolic and Endocrine Diseases; Pathology of Bacterial, Viral and Poultry Diseases; and Veterinary Clinical Pathology.

The Department also trains graduates and postgraduates students in Veterinary Pathology with options in Diagnostic Pathology, Clinical Pathology and Avian Pathology; Veterinary Microbiology with options in Veterinary Bacteriology, Veterinary Virology, Veterinary Immunology and veterinary Mycology. It is also a training Centre for Pathology Specialty Group of the College of Veterinary Surgeons, Nigeria.

The Department is also actively involved in research and community services.